Creators, consumers and exploiters of pop culture.

Sunday, 9 May 2010

Thoughts on the LAST SEASON of Lost

So I just spent the last day and a half watching the 1st 14 episodes of THE FINAL SQEASON of Lost.

Why am I calling it Sqeason?

Well, there is clearly going to be so much nonsense to "squeeze" into it so henceforth it shall be known as the final Sqeason.

Now I have been a steadfast fan of the show since series 1. Everyone knows that was the best one. Everyone knows that they had to string it out, it was such a huge success, so some of the seasons Lost their way.

Many of the fans dropped off too, season 2, season 3, numbers went down every season.

But I still kept watching. I HAD TO KNOW what the hell this show was all about. I will be damned if I will give up on this now, in the last leg of this thing. I was convinced the writers had a plan for this show, and I wanted to know what was inside their brains.

So I waited till I had a good amount of episodes of the final season to watch, and the combination of being ill, GF being away, and having 14 eps to watch... well, it just seemed like it was the right time to dig in.

But now, after consuming them, and some pizza and ice-cream (I was ill after all), I am mostly annoyed, and here is why:


From this point on, look away if you want to avoid spoilers on these latest 14 eps.

OK. Problems:

1) I only really care about the action on the island. I always have. To me, flash-backs, flash-forwards, flash-to-alternate-dimension time space crap means nothing to me. I care about the mysteries and adventures on the island. Some people say you can't have one without the other, but to me, all the other crap is filler. Lost could have been 2 seasons of quality Island adventure mentalism if they dropped all the various backstory bullshit filler.

2) Season 4 specific problem - "Join Locke's group" no wait, "Join Sawyer's group" no join "that dude from neighbours group" and so on. Not forgetting the mysterious Japanese shogun/Miyagi-type temple-people-group, that after a few episodes, all got nailed. Glad too cause their leader guy was a right mysterious dick. For no reason, kind of like Jacob, but we will get to that later.

Anyways basically there is too much group/allegiance/promise-swapping and it gets hard to keep track of.

3) People trek all over the island on bullshit errands for no real reason but to fill time. The lighthouse, Dharma village, temple, back to the temple, the beach etc. This annoyed me. I actually enjoyed the alternate dimension crappo in this season more than the island stuff as the running back and forth, joining and unjoining groups and trekking through the jungle was just tedious.

4) Jacob - Boring, mysterious for no reason, and a general penis. Here's an idea Jacob: "Tell people what you want them to do, and why, and they might do it and you will get what you want!"

Also, Ben Linus kills him. Lamely.

The actor that plays Jacob is much better as Satan in "Supernatural". In fact, maybe he is Satan, the same Satan, in both shows. Once they killed him in Lost, he popped into Supernatural ready to posess Sam Winchester... (that's for another blog though)

5) This is a general problem with this show: Why has no-one ever asked either Jacob, Locke-creature (to be known as McLocke from now on) or Miyagi-man "Excuse me, just quite what the hell is going on here on this island and really, just what the frak am I doing here". That annoys me that no-one ever does that.

Saying that, then this series would have been over in like 10 mins. They could have done an architecht-style speech like they did in The Matrix. That would have satisfied me and as a bonus I wouldn't have had to wait 6 years to find out wha gwan on that there island there.

Also ABC would have made no money (sounds like a win win to me)... anyways.

5) Juliette being dead. She had hotness. Seriously.

6) Sudden semi-explanation for smokey - McLocke: "Oh yeah, that's me. I can change into black smoke and kick-ass. Now moving on, y'all best do what I say. Otherwise I Will Smoke Your Asses!"

Good things so far this season (cause there are some!):

1) The episode about Richard Alpert (or Ricardo) was just totally awesome. Nice to see what he is all about, where he came from etc. The bit where Jacob shares wine with him is the closest explanation we have for what exactly the island is, and who Jacob is, and who McLocke is.

2) McLocke - I don't quite know who he is or what he is, but he is a hard-ass awesome character. I used to think regular Locke was cool, but McLocke is way cooler.

3) The way the alternate dimension stuff all links together. I know, I know, I said I thought all this stuff was filler, but the way they keep the connections going between the characters even after Juliette creates the Lostverse2 (where the plane doesn't crash) is a rather clever bit of plotting and scripting.

4) Alternate universe Hugo being a super-successeful gazillionaire. Win.

5) Episode 14. The ending. Jin and Sun. Nearly brought a tear to my eye. I swear. After watching all 14 eps and being ready to shred them all, this episode redeemed it.

I once was lost, but now I was found.

This ep had: excitement and action, McLocke kicking ass, Sayeed blowing up (dead for a second time????) and... well... Jin and Sun re-united, then drowned. This episode ruled. Because of this episode, I decided to write all this crap, and I hope you enjoyed reading it.

I cannot wait for the final episodes, but I am going to wait till I have them all, and watch them in one big fat sitting.

And then slag them off.

Again.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know in the comments below!