So How did I, Apple-hater #1, end up bending over and letting in the Apple horde? Read on...
So now I was ready for my next video-playing device, but I didn't want something I had to use to transcode video...
At this point, I was against device convergance, and thought a phone should be a phone and a media player a media player. Looking around at my options, I decided to go back to my old friends Creative for a device that was again billed as an "Apple Beater"...
The Zen:

This device really had it all: Large capacity, great video format support, TV out, Radio, great sound etc. So what if it didn't look as slick as the i-shit, I could drag-and-drop content to and from here, I could organise stuff the way I WANTED it to be organised.
I loved, and still do love this device very very much. A year or so after getting it, the idea of convergence popped into my head again. I was rockin the Nokia N95 8gb as my phone, which was, a super device. Slightly lacking in design, sure, but it was a workhorse with GPS, Music player, internet etc. I started to like and trust Nokia, which is why when they announced the N900, I decided I HAD TO HAVE IT.

In my head, this was the Apple-beating "All-In-One Everything" I had been waiting for. It was open-source, played all video and audio formats, had a hardware keyboard, and was tough as nails. For a few months, it was exciting and new, but soon I realised that I was deluding myself. Nokia had deceived me with their clever clever Finnish double-talking. What were the problems?
- Jerky video playback
- Shonky apps (always a risk with open-source stuff)
- Slow performance while surfing the net
- Hardly any official app support from Nokia
Also, this device was billed as the perfect "hacker phone". Although I like to think of myself as one, I am not a hacker. Nor do I have the time, or knowledge to become one. I liked what this device was trying to do, but really it was made not for me. It helped me to realise that I was a consumer, not some kind of Matrix manipulator guy, who could get the most out of the Linux OS and the community around it.
Since this was an upgrade though, I had prepared to sit through the next 18 months before I could get something else. Then the iPhone 4 arrives on the scene.
I thought: If only there was a way I could get my hand on one of those 3GS phones, which no-one likely wants anymore since all the fanboys would be after the 4? Well, I cannot tell you the whole story, but let me just say I am now a Vodafone customer for life.
They gave me one, for free, without extending my contract, and didn't even want the old N900 back! Proper customer service there. As for my methods? They shall remain a secret, except to say, be loyal to Voda, they will be loyal to you.
So I am now in possession of a spanking new 32 gig iPhone 3GS. This totally pains me to say, and I wish it wasn't true but: this phone is the nuts. I wouldn't have wanted to pay £500 for one, but damn... The thing is: it JUST WORKS.
It syncs up perfectly with my Google accounts - email and calendar. Update on my PC, it goes to the phone too, and the other way round. I know other phones can do this, but I have never experienced such seamless and easy integration.
Web browsing - except for flash-based sites, this is really quick to load, and looks amazing on the screen.
Email app: much quicker than on my N900, and is a real breeze to read and reply to emails.
Wi-Fi: Automatically connects to my known networks when I am in range, and uses them. Had to do this manually on the N900.
Apps: TheTrainline app - knows where I am and tells me what time the next train home is from the nearest station. Virtually instantly. Amazing.
Facebook app: Better than the full internet version of the site.
Google Maps/Earth - full versions of the software, in your hand.
Media playback: Video looks great, and most importantly, the sound through the headphones is full, and deep.
I discover new things about it that I like every day.
Overall, I am astounded with it. I am glad I got the 3GS and not an earlier version as I think this is the pinnacle of the device so far. Not bothered about the 4, especially after experiencing the infamous call drop-out from someone I was speaking to yesterday. Honestly, holding it wrong? Lame.
Anyway, I am now one of the mindless zombie horde, wanking around the place with my iPhone, telling the world how great it is. Because it is.
And I hate myself for saying that.
I still hate iTunes though, and my next phone is going to be a Windows7series phone, so I won't be an Apple whore forever.
Ideally.


